BREAKING NEWS: LCV Releases 2009 National Environmental Scorecard

ANN ARBOR, MI – Today, Michigan LCV joined the national League of Conservation Voters in releasing the 2009 National Environmental Scorecard, revealing scores for the Michigan delegation in the first session of the 111th Congress. For 30 years, the National Environmental Scorecard issued by LCV has been the nationally accepted yardstick used to rate members of Congress on environmental, public health and energy issues.

“We applaud those members of the Michigan delegation who fought in 2009 to bring clean energy jobs to the state and reduce our national dependence on foreign oil, such as Senators Levin and Stabenow and Representatives Kildee, Schauer, Peters, and Kilpatrick” said Michigan LCV’s Executive Director Lisa Wozniak. “The 2009 Scorecard clearly exposes some members of our delegation as putting corporate polluters and other special interests ahead of a cleaner, more secure energy future for Michigan.”

The 2009 Scorecard includes 11 Senate and 13 House votes dominated by clean energy and climate but also encompassing other environmental issues such as public lands, water and wildlife conservation. In Michigan, five House members and both senators earned a perfect 100 percent score in 2009, while one House member, Congressman Pete Hoekstra, received an abysmal 7 percent. The average House score in 2009 for Michigan was 67 percent and the average Senate score was 100 percent.

“The 2009 National Environmental Scorecard illustrates the extent to which the Obama administration and the 111th Congress began to move our nation towards a clean energy future that will create new jobs, make America more energy independent and curb global warming pollution,” said LCV President Gene Karpinski. “However, it also makes clear that there is still much work to be done, first and foremost to finish the work started in the House by swiftly passing a comprehensive clean energy and climate bill in the Senate.”

Representatives Stupak, Kildee, Schauer, Peters, Levin, Kilpatrick, Conyers and Dingell voted for the landmark American Clean Energy and Security Act, which would help bring more than 53,000 clean energy jobs to Michigan*

Carl Levin (D-MI) 100%
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) 100%

Bart Stupak (D-01) 93%
Pete Hoekstra (R-02) 7%
Vern Ehlers (R-03) 50%
Dave Camp (R-04) 21%
Dale E. Kildee (D-05) 100%
Fred Upton (R-06) 36%
Mark Schauer (D-07) 100%
Mike Rogers (R-08) 21%
Gary Peters (D-09) 100%
Candice Miller (R-10) 50%
Thaddeus McCotter (R-11) 36%
Sandy Levin (D-12) 100%
Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-13) 100%
John Conyers, Jr. (D-14) 93%
John D. Dingell (D-15) 93%

The full 2009 National Environmental Scorecard can be found at

* Center for American Progress & Political Economy Research Institute,


Kate Geller, (202) 454-4573 or
Kerry Duggan, (734) 846-0093 or