Michigan LCV Announces Endorsements for Candidates in State Legislative Races

The Michigan League of Conservation Voters issued endorsements for 29 candidates running for the Michigan House of Representatives and 9 candidates running for the Michigan Senate today. Michigan LCV is the leading non-partisan political voice for Michigan’s land, air and water, and endorses candidates for office who will make the protection of our natural resources a priority in the state legislature.

“Who we elect matters, and this year we have big opportunities to elect candidates who will lead on the natural resources issues that are critical to our environment and to our economy,” said Lisa Wozniak, Executive Director for Michigan LCV. “We are in serious need of strong leadership on land, air and water issues in Lansing. Michigan LCV is proud to support candidates who value Michigan’s priceless natural resources and who will work to protect them.”

For the Michigan House of Representatives, Michigan LCV endorsed the following candidates: Theresa Abed (D - Grand Ledge), Winnie Brinks (D - Grand Rapids), Jon Bumstead (R - Newaygo), Stephanie Chang (D - Detroit), Tom Cochran (D - Mason), Scott Dianda (D - Calumet), Gretchen Driskell (D - Saline), Pam Faris (D - Clio), Anthony Forlini (R - Harrison Twp.), Tim Greimel (D - Pontiac), David Haener (D - New Boston), Jon Hoadley (D - Kalamazoo), Marcia Hovey-Wright (D - Muskegon), Jeff Irwin (D - Ann Arbor), Bradford Jacobsen (R - Oxford), Collene Lamonte (D - Montague), Bill LaVoy (D - Monroe), Paul Muxlow (R - Brown City), Kristy Pagan (D - Canton), Phil Phelps (D - Flushing), Amanda Price (R - Park Twp.), Al Pscholka (R - Stevensville), Sarah Roberts (D - St. Clair Shores), David Rutledge (D - Ypsilanti), Andy Schor (D - Lansing), Sam Singh (D - East Lansing), Tom Stobie (D - Frankfort), Rob VerHeulen (R - Walker), and Adam Zemke (D - Ann Arbor).

For the Michigan Senate, Michigan LCV endorsed the following candidates: Jim Ananich (D - Flint), Steve Bieda (D - Warren), Morris W. Hood III (D - Detroit), Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D - Taylor), David Knezek (D - Dearborn Heights), Sean McCann (D - Kalamazoo), Wayne Schmidt (R - Traverse City), Dian Slavens (D - Canton Twp.), and Rebekah Warren (D - Ann Arbor).

“We are ready to build off of momentum gained in crucial primary election victories to elect strong conservation candidates this November,” said Jack Schmitt, Deputy Director for Michigan LCV. “Our state needs more advocates for our land, air and water in the State Capitol. In the coming weeks, Michigan LCV will be working non-stop to deliver wins for candidates who have shown a commitment to the natural resources that make our state a great place to call home.”

For a full list of Michigan LCV’s endorsements visit: http://archive2016.michiganlcv.org/elections-endorsements/endorsements